Overview

Docketwise Account Owners/Admins can manage and update the various other users on their account. In order to manage the users on your account, you will need to navigate to Settings > User Access.

From here you are able to manage the following:


Adding Users

In order to add a user to your account, you will need to follow the steps below:

  1. Navigate to Settings > User Access

  2. Click the + New Firm Member Button

  3. Enter the new user's email address and name

  4. Click the Confirm button

Note: If your account does not have enough user licenses to accommodate this new user being added, a user license will automatically be added to your subscription.


Deactivating Users

In order to deactivate a user to your account, you will need to follow the steps below:

  1. Navigate to Settings > User Access

  2. Click on the 3 vertical dots ( ) next to the user that you would like to deactivate

  3. Choose the option to Deactivate User

Note: Deactivating a user will prevent them from logging into Docketwise. You will still retain their logs and any data that they've added to Docketwise so that you can continue accessing it.

Additionally, when a user is deactivated, a user license will still be in use. If you wish to vacate a user license, the user will have to be deleted.


Reactivating a User

In order to reactivate a user to your account, you will need to follow the steps below:

  1. Navigate to Settings > User Access

  2. Click on the 3 vertical dots ( ) next to the user that you would like to reactivate

  3. Choose the option to Activate User


Removing a User

In order to remove a user to your account, you will need to follow the steps below:

  1. Navigate to Settings > User Access

  2. Click on the 3 vertical dots ( ) next to the user that you would like to remove

  3. Choose the option to Deactivate User

  4. Once the user has been deactivated, click on the 3 vertical dots ( ) next to the user that you would like to remove

  5. Choose the option to Delete User

Note: Deleting a user will permanently remove that user from your Docketwise account.

After a user is deleted, the logs generated by that user will be removed as well; all resources created by this user will still remain, but this user will no longer be listed as an assignee.

If the user license will no longer be needed, you can update your number of user licenses to reflect your current number of total users.


Changing a User's Name and Email Address

In order to edit a user's name and/or email address, you will need to follow the steps below:

  1. Navigate to Settings > User Access

  2. Click on the 3 vertical dots ( ) next to the user that you would like to edit

  3. Choose the option to Edit User

  4. Enter the desired Name and Email address of the user

  5. Click the Save Changes button

Note: If you wish to update/change the password of a firm member, you will need to change their email address to an account to which you have access and request an email password reset be sent (from the Docketwise log in screen).


Managing Permissions

The permissions that can be specified for each user within User Access are:

  • Global Permissions: Ability to delete/export resources

  • Invoice Permissions: Specify access to Invoices (viewing/creating/editing/deleting)

  • Note Permissions: Specify access to Notes (viewing/creating/editing/deleting)

  • Financial Date Permissions: Specify access to Financial Data (viewing/creating/editing/deleting)

In order to manage permissions for a specific user on account, you will need to follow the steps below:

  1. Navigate to Settings > User Access

  2. Click on the 3 vertical dots ( ) next to the user that you would like to edit

  3. Choose the option to Edit User

  4. Specify the desired permissions for the user

  5. Click the Save Changes button


Designating Additional Account Admins

Docketwise Enterprise subscribers are able to indicate additional Account Admins on their Docketwise account, granting those specified users the same abilities as the Owner of the account.

In order to grant Admin permissions to another user, you will need to follow the steps below:

  1. Navigate to Settings > User Access

  2. Click on the 3 vertical dots ( ) next to the user to whom you would like to grant Admin permissions

  3. Choose the option to Edit User

  4. Choose Administrator under Permission Level

  5. Click the Save Changes button


Designating a User's Branch

Docketwise Enterprise subscribers are able to indicate the branch of each specific user, which can be used for purposes for reporting and filtering resources by the firm's specific branch. Please click here if you are interested in learning about using branches in Docketwise.

In order to designate the branch of a specific user, you will need to follow the steps below:

  1. Navigate to Settings > User Access

  2. Click on the 3 vertical dots ( ) next to the user whose branch you would like to specify

  3. Choose the option to Edit User

  4. Select the branch to which you would like the user to belong

  5. Click the Save Changes button

Note: The Owner of the firm is not able to be assigned to a specific branch of the firm.

Did this answer your question?